The Soldier's Wife

The Soldier's Wife

Book - 2011
Average Rating:
Rate this:
12
1
As World War II draws closer and closer to Guernsey, Vivienne de la Mare knows that there will be sacrifices to be made. Not just for herself, but for her two young daughters and for her mother-in-law, for whom she cares while her husband is away fighting. What she does not expect is that she will fall in love with one of the enigmatic German soldiers who take up residence in the house next door to her home. As their relationship intensifies, so do the pressures on Vivienne. Food and resources grow scant, and the restrictions placed upon the residents of the island grow with each passing week. Though Vivienne knows the perils of her love affair with Gunther, she believes that she can keep their relationship--and her family--safe. But when she becomes aware of the full brutality of the Occupation, she must decide if she is willing to risk her personal happiness for the life of a stranger.
Publisher: New York : Hyperion/Voice, c2011.
Edition: 1st ed.
ISBN: 9781401341701
1401341705
Call Number: LEROY
Characteristics: 404 p. : map ; 21 cm
Subjects: Married women -- Channel Islands -- Guernsey -- Fiction.
World War, 1939-1945 -- Channel Islands -- Guernsey -- Fiction.
Germans -- Channel Islands -- Guernsey -- Fiction.
Channel Islands -- History -- German occupation, 1940-1945 -- Fiction.
Guernsey -- Fiction.
Love stories.
Historical fiction.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

i
INVS
Aug 26, 2018

Not bad. At least it had some twists, some bittersweet moments & I appreciated it was based on the factual events of occupation. The residents must have felt they had been abandoned by the mainland, left in the dark, unprotected since they had little idea of what was happening worldwide. A story that makes one wonder what one would do in the same situation.

MedinaReads Jan 30, 2015

For readers who enjoyed The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, but with a little more romance. Recommended by M.O., Medina Library, MCDL

v
vfryzek
Jan 13, 2015

The Soldier's Wife I suspect may have been geared towards the harlequin reader but don't let that turn you off.
It offers an interesting glimpse into life during occupation with out being to gritty.
The only part I felt cheated on was the transition from the War to peace time.
Don't want to give anything away but it did have a nice twist at the end.

a
Adele20
Aug 25, 2014

Really enjoyed this book. Interesting reading about what people had to put up with during the war. You can imagine the turmoil she went through having an affair with the enemy.

lorinormand Feb 24, 2014

I liked the development of the characters along with the story line...very believable.

MariePat Aug 09, 2012

I loved this book and could not put it down. I learned so much about the Chanel Islands during the war. I had no idea that their were work camps on the island. A page turner and I highly recommend!

o
ownedbydoxies
May 16, 2012

I found this overly-romanticized and too simplified. Not enough character description to truly understand how someone would fall so in love with an enemy soldier, and then carry on a love-affair for years and not be found out. To me this seemed like chick-lit for the war-time romantic.... got half-way through, then skimmed the rest and as I thought would happen it all got summed up a little too nicely by the end.

mulberrystreet Apr 27, 2012

The story is simple - a woman is raising her family in occupied Guernsey and begins a relationship with a German soldier who moves in next door. Her daily life is often at odds with her life after dark when she and her lover lay in her room and leave the war and everything else at the door.

I really enjoyed reading this bittersweet story.

wearejoyful Jan 18, 2012

This is the first book I have read by this author and I found it to be compelling story in which I couldn't wait to read the next chapter!

BPLNextBestAdults Nov 15, 2011

Guernsey Island during WW II is a quiet place in an idyllic landscape inhabited mainly by women and children as the men have all gone off to wa-- that is, until Hitler’s troops bomb the harbour and the Occupation begins. Nothing will ever be the same again for Vivienne, her 2 daughters, and her mother-in-law. Their lives change dramatically as they struggle daily to overcome food shortages, curfews, and the fear of being watched by the soldiers. The historical research is very richly portrayed. Underlying it all is the intense love relationship that develops between Vivienne and a German soldier. The loving bond between these two people transcends nationalities and the brutality of war. This is a very emotional and compelling story.

View All Comments

Notices

Add Notices

d
dolanmf
May 27, 2016

Violence: Book is based during WW2 and has some war scenes.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...
No similar edition of this title was found at GCPL.

Try searching for The Soldier's Wife to see if GCPL owns related versions of the work.


Suggest For Purchase

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top