Little White Lies

Little White Lies

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
3
1
1
Eighteen-year-old auto mechanic Sawyer Taft did not expect her estranged grandmother to show up at her apartment door and offer her a six-figure contract to participate in debutante season. And she definitely never imagined she would accept. But when she realizes that immersing herself in her grandmother's "society" might mean discovering the answer to the biggest mystery of her life-her father's identity-she signs on the dotted line and braces herself for a year of makeovers, big dresses, bigger egos, and a whole lot of bless your heart. The one thing she doesn't expect to find is friendship, but as she's drawn into a group of debutantes with scandalous, dangerous secrets of their own, Sawyer quickly discovers that her family isn't the only mainstay of high society with skeletons in their closet. There are people in her grandmother's glittering world who are not what they appear, and no one wants Sawyer poking her nose into the past. As she navigates the twisted relationships between her new friends and their powerful parents, Sawyer's search for the truth about her own origins is just the beginning. Set in the world of debutante balls, grand estates and rolling green hills, Little White Lies combines a charming setting, a classic fish-out-of-water story, and the sort of layered mystery only author Jennifer Lynn Barnes can pull off.
Publisher: 2018/11/06
Los Angeles : Freeform Books, 2018.
Edition: First edition.
Series:
ISBN: 9781368014137
1368014135
Call Number: Teen Fiction
BARNES
Characteristics: 390 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm
Subjects: Debutantes -- Fiction.
Grandmothers -- Fiction.
Mothers and daughters -- Fiction.
Families -- Southern States -- Fiction.
Family secrets -- Fiction.
Southern States -- Fiction.
Detective and mystery fiction.
Est. publishing date: 2018/11/06

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
sjpl_rebekah Aug 26, 2019

This book was a whole lot of fun. For fans of Pretty Little Liars and Gossip Girl, this is going to be the next big read.

The characters in this story were a bit stereotypical (nothing terribly original), but I still enjoyed watching them navigate through a life of riches and scandal. Although the story itself was bit formulaic (poor girl gets thrown into the deep end of high society as she is mentored by the wealthy family she never knew she had), I found it refreshing that there was no romantic subplot for the main character. The story focused almost entirely on her personal quest to find out who her father is.

Although I very much enjoyed this book, there are a couple reasons I could not bring myself to rate it higher.

The structure of the book was not my favorite. It starts out in the present then goes back in time to set the stage for what is happening now. Although I generally like this type of structure, I only like it when it is done well. The switches between the past and the present seem very unnecessary to me, and did nothing to further the suspense. The story could have moved along equally well if the author had only done one time jump in the beginning and then caught the reader back up towards the end of the book.

The big reveal at the end of the book was entirely anticlimactic. There are some authors that really know how to blow your mind with a big reveal, but this author has not quite mastered the art of it. The mystery is resolved enough to make this book a standalone, but the author left enough loose ends that I suspect that she is going to try to make it into a series. I, as the reader, feel perfectly content to leave the story where it ended in this book.

s
shayshortt
Nov 10, 2018

If you’re a fan of Barnes’ Naturals series, or The Fixer, Little White Lies offers more in that same vein, fully of twisty mysteries, interesting characters, and punchy dialogue. Honestly, for the most part Little White Lies felt like it worked well as a standalone, so I am curious to see how the planned series will continue from this point, though there are a couple of obvious loose threads to work with. There was one final reveal that didn’t sit particularly well with me, and I’ll have to decide if it is a deal breaker for continuing to read, or if I want to see how Barnes revisits this plot point going forward. When it comes to Barnes, I know that nothing is really settled until the final book, and everything you think you know can turn out to be wrong.

OPL_KrisC Oct 12, 2018

A dramatic and engrossing contemporary young adult book that includes numerous twists and turns that will keep you guessing. The mystery draws you in and won't let go. For fans of Gilmore Girls, Pretty Little Liars and Gossip Girl.

Age

Add Age Suitability
OPL_KrisC Oct 12, 2018

OPL_KrisC thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

Quotes

Add a Quote
s
shayshortt
Nov 10, 2018

This isn’t a fairy tale, sister dear…This is a revenge story, and it’s going to be epic.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at GCPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top