The Complete Short Stories of Mark Twain

The Complete Short Stories of Mark Twain

Book - 1990
Average Rating:
Rate this:
For deft plotting, riotous inventiveness, unforgettable characters, and language that brilliantly captures the lively rhythms of American speech, no American writer comes close to Mark Twain. This sparkling anthology covers the entire span of Twain's inimitable yarn-spinning, from his early broad comedy to the biting satire of his later years. Every one of his sixty stories is here: ranging from the frontier humor of "The Celebrated Jumping Frog of Calaveras County," to the bitter vision of humankind in "The Man That Corrupted Hadleyburg," to the delightful hilarity of "Is He Living or Is He Dead?" Surging with Twain's ebullient wit and penetrating insight into the follies of human nature, this volume is a vibrant summation of the career of--in the words of H. L. Mencken--"the father of our national literature."
Publisher: New York : Bantam Books, 1990, 1981.
ISBN: 9780553211955
Call Number: TWAIN
Characteristics: xxii, 679 p. ; 18 cm
Subjects: Short stories.
Additional Contributors: Neider, Charles 1915-2001.


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

hoods Nov 29, 2011

awesome book never knew mark twain was such a humorist


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Related Authors


Subject Headings


Find it at GCPL

To Top