Boy Alone

Boy Alone

A Brother's Memoir

Book - 2009
Average Rating:
Rate this:

"Extraordinary... Greenfeld details what it is like to grow up next to a 'beautiful' boy with whom he can never play and never connect and who never returns his love, but who, nonetheless, is the most important fact of his life."
-- Michael Thompson, Ph.D., co-author of Raising Cain

"Beautiful and powerful .... A masterpiece of literature and memory."
-- Walter Isaacson, author of Einstein: His Life and Universe

"Gripping."
-- Washington Post

A WASHINGTON POST BOOK WORLD BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR

In this literary tour de force, Karl Taro Greenfield, the acclaimed journalist and author of China Syndrome, tells the story of his life growing up with his brother, chronicling the hopes, dreams, and realities of life with an autistic sibling. Fans of Joan Didion's The Year of Magical Thinking and David Sheff's Beautiful Boy will find many poignant, moving moments in Boy Alone.

Publisher: New York, NY : Harper, c2009.
Edition: 1st ed.
ISBN: 9780061136665
0061136662
Call Number: 616.8588 GREENFELD
Characteristics: 355 p. ; 24 cm
Subjects: Greenfeld, Karl Taro, 1964- -- Family.
Greenfeld, Karl Taro, 1964- -- Childhood and youth.
Greenfeld, Noah Jiro, 1966-
Croton-on-Hudson (N.Y.) -- Biography.
Brothers -- United States -- Biography.
Autistic children -- Family relationships -- United States.
People with mental disabilities -- United States -- Biography.
Autistic children -- United States -- Biography.
Autism.
Autistic children.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at GCPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top